5-minute (or less) Homemade Dish Washing Detergent

I haven’t even brushed my teeth yet today.  But some days, being able to accomplish something while the munchkin is “sleeping” is more important than oral hygiene. Thus, my nap time mini-project.

During today’s nap time, I needed to make some dish washing detergent.  I have been making my own detergent for a little over a year, and I am so glad I do!  A very small portion of our grocery budget is dedicated to cleaning supplies because they are so much cheaper when you make them yourself!  And you only have to buy the ingredients twice a year(-ish)!  Here’s my super easy 5-minute (or less) recipe.

Don't judge the trashiness of my jar.

Don’t judge the trashiness of my jar.

 

*Ingredients:

1/2 cup Borax

1/2 cup Washing Soda

1/4 cup Kosher Salt

1/4 cup Lemi-Shine

Jar

A few drops Lemon Essential Oil (optional)

All you need to do is add each of the ingredients into a jar, give it a little shake, and you’re finished!  Easy as pie!  I happen to keep all kinds of jars and plastic tupperware for situations just like this, which is why mine looks super trashy.  My jar is about 3 years old and was originally gifted to me with Christmas treats inside. But on this journey to financial freedom, pretty isn’t as important as budget-friendly 🙂

I also like to add a few drops of lemon essential oil into my dishwashing detergent.  It smells super fresh, helps with water spots, and has antibacterial properties.  Can’t beat that.

I use doTERRA essential oils.  They are amazing. I don't sell them, but if you need someone who does, I know a great lady who can help you out :)

I use doTERRA essential oils. They are amazing. I don’t sell them, but if you need someone who does, I know a great lady who can help you out 🙂

When you are ready to do a load of dishes, just add one tablespoon of the mix into your dishwasher.  That’s all it takes.  Two months of detergent for five minutes of your time.  Totally worth it.

If you have a cleaning recipe you’d like to share, comment below! 

*These items cost roughly $15 (including tax, not including the Lemon EO).  I use most of these ingredients to make other cleaning supplies (laundry detergent, weed killer, ant killer, wood polish, etc).  Each of the items has lasted about a year, even as I use them for multiple different recipes.  Totally budget-friendly

**Bonus Tip:  add vinegar to the rinse aid holder (I don’t know the official term) and it will serve as a cheaper, natural Jet Dry.

***Extra Bonus Tip:  Store your detergent in a cool dry place, or it will get clumpy and extremely difficult to deal with.

****Extra Double Bonus because I can’t stop myself: I will be compiling all my cleaning recipes soon and posting them on here. And then hopefully I’ll have them organized in one place for easy access.

Leave a Reply

