Homemade Laundry Detergent

Another cleaner that I like to make from home is laundry detergent.  Let me just say, before I started doing this, I was buying Arm & Hammer liquid laundry detergent.  I did this purely for the smell.  It smells exactly like fresh laundry and I love it.  But, it’s $6 for a small-ish container of it at HEB.  Every once in a while HEB will have a coupon for a dollar off, but it was still $5 per container, and even though it supposedly lasts for 40 loads, I never got that much use out of it.

When we decided to switch to homemade powder detergent (begrudgingly, I might add… me and that laundry smell…), I was actually really happy with how clean my clothes came out.  While there are plenty of recipes online, I like this one because it’s 3 ingredients (with an optional 4th), it’s really easy on the budget, and takes less than 10 minutes to make.  Here’s my recipe for homemade laundry detergent:

laundry detergent

Ingredients/Supplies:

1 cup Borax

1 cup Washing Soda

1 bar grated Ivory Soap

Lavender Essential Oil (optional)

Fine Grater

Large Jar (the jar above is 3 cups I think)

Tablespoon

This is another one of those pour everything into the jar and shake it kind of recipes.  The part of this recipe that takes the most time is grating the Ivory Soap, which is why it takes less than 10 minutes as opposed to 5.

I also added a few drops of Lavender Essential Oil to my recipe.  Note:  I added 8 drops and it was wayyyy too much, so don’t do that much if you are going the scented route.

Add one tablespoon of detergent to each load.  That doesn’t sound like much, but I use a tablespoon for my biggest loads and it works fine.  I also use just a tablespoon on poopy baby diapers and they are fine when they come out, so really, a tablespoon works.  Store in a cool, dry place.

IMG_9385I can’t take all the credit today.  I did have a couple of super cute helpers.  Unfortunately, they don’t sit very still for pictures, so this was the best I could get.  Penny is on the left and Buddy is right.

IMG_9384

They love each other.

2 thoughts on “Homemade Laundry Detergent

Leave a Reply

