A (Possible) Solution to Our Never-Ending Naptime Saga

For those of you that know anything about my family, you have probably heard me talk about our Never-Ending Naptime Saga.  The gist of it is our son doesn’t nap.

The more detailed version is that since he was about 2 weeks old, we have struggled with naps.  We have literally tried everything.  Part of the problem is our son is very alert, so it takes him a long time to settle down.  Also, he is used to running on fumes, so to speak, so he will literally go 6-8 hours without a nap, and be completely happy.  He doesn’t even fuss.  But then when 6:00 pm rolls around, he starts to lose it and we all pay for the fact that he hasn’t napped well.

BUT

I think I have found a solution to this problem.  First of all, the munchkin’s room already has thermal light-blocking curtains, but because of the moulding on the bottom of the windows, they don’t lie flat, so his room is still pretty bright.  bright nursery

This morning, was a really cloudy, rainy day, and his room was super dark, like it would be at about 7 pm.  When I put him down at 9 for his morning nap, he went right to sleep and slept for TWO. WHOLE. HOURS.  Yea.  You read that right.  Two hours.  My baby.  Yep.  I’m in as much shock as you are.

When I put him down for his afternoon nap though, it was a completely different story.  The rain had cleared up a little at that point, and his room was its usual brightness.  No nap.  Which got me thinking…  Maybe he just needs it to be really, really, REALLY dark in there.  So I started doing some research to see where I could get some light-blocking window treatments to go directly onto the window.  Unfortunately, these treatments were really expensive.  As in $30 per window.

This kid has 3 windows in his room and I was not about to spend $90 that we really don’t have and didn’t budget for on something I figured I could DIY for cheaper.  So, here is my easy guide to creating seal-able room darkening window treatments.

supplies

 

The only two items I had to buy were shower curtain liners (yes, it’s from Walmart… I actually stuck to my budget though because I was on a mission!!) and self-adhesive velcro.  I wanted to buy strips of velcro so it would seal all around the window, but that wasn’t very budget friendly.  I decided on these velcro circles instead. Also, I didn’t want to commit to darkness 24/7, and the velcro makes it easy to remove to clean windows, or just to enjoy the daylight.

I’m not very detail-oriented, so I just stuck the velcro on the edges of the window frame and stuck the shower curtain directly on it and then trimmed the edges to fit the window.  No measuring or anything that involves brain power.

The cost of this project was about $20 to cover 3 windows.  It took me about 15 minutes to finish the whole project.  I tried to take an after photo, but couldn’t because his room was too dark!!  Now it’s just a matter of time to see if he is able to sleep!!

It also occurred to me once I got home that I probably could have purchased a large tarp from the hardware section, which may have saved me more money.  Oh well.

Leave a Reply

