Home Made All-Purpose Floor Cleaner

By now I think everyone knows I like making my own cleaners.  Not only do I think it’s a lot of fun, it also saves a lot of money.  And any extra money we can save all goes toward paying off our (my) school debt.

I have been trying to find a hardwood floor cleaner since we moved into our new house.  The floors in here are the original hardwoods (which means they’re 71 years old).  They also need to be re-finished, but that is not a priority on our list of projects right now.  The former owners left several different wood floor cleaners under the kitchen sink, so I have slowly but surely been trying them all out to see which one I like the best on these old floors.  And after trying them all, I haven’t been satisfied with any of them.  The floors never really feel very clean and several of them leave little water marks where the liquid initially touched the hardwood… I think because the finish is basically worn off in a lot of areas.

So my mission has been to find something that actually makes the floors feel clean and doesn’t leave behind water marks.  and I found that cleaner this weekend.

I was originally introduced to the amazing-ness of liquid Castile soap by my sister-in-law.  We recently visited her family and she told me about how she made her own liquid hand soap and dish soap using this product.  For those that don’t know, Castile soap is an olive oil based soap.  Because of this, you can literally use it for everything, from hair and body to dishes to washing produce to cleaning your house.  It is not that cheap per ounce (my 32 oz. bottle was $11.99), but it is intended to be diluted with any use, so that brings the cost down a bit.

This floor cleaner can be used on any type of floor (wood, tile, vinyl, laminate).  However, I strongly recommend testing it on an inconspicuous spot before committing just to be sure you get the results you are hoping for.

all purpose floor cleaner recipe

Ingredients:

1/2 cup liquid Castile soap

8 cups (1/2 gallon) water

Based on my other cleaning recipes, you probably know that I like to keep things simple.  Just pour the ingredients into a bucket and start mopping.  I only did 1/2 gallon of water and I felt like it cleaned our entire 1400 sq ft house pretty well.  Feel free to use more or less based on the area you are cleaning.

A few side notes:

  • One thing I noticed and that I plan on adjusting for later is that this soap gets very foamy.  I had to mop over each area a couple of times to make sure the foam was wiped up.  I plan on trying this recipe with 1/4 cup of the soap mixed with the same amount of water next time.  I will update this post after I have some tangible results.
  • Another thing– I wanted to get an unscented soap, but couldn’t actually find one at our local drugstore.  I ended up getting peppermint, but the smell really wasn’t strong and didn’t leave a lingering aroma as I was mopping, so I really liked that.
  • And finally, I really loved that I could use this throughout our entire house.  We have tile floors in our bathrooms and hardwood in the rest of the house.  It had been bothering me that I would have to use one cleaning solution for the bathrooms and a separate one for the rest of the house, but with this recipe, I can just make one batch and use it everywhere.  It is awesome.

Enjoy 🙂

2 thoughts on “Home Made All-Purpose Floor Cleaner

  1. I clean my hardwood floors with vingear and water. I bought a swifer mop and will wrap a washcloth around the bottom. Than I bought a plastic spray bottle. I mix the right vingear to water ratio. It leaves a very clean, very nice shine to my floors 🙂

    • Awesome! Thanks for sharing!! I wondered about vinegar but heard mixed reviews about using it on hardwood… You haven’t had any issues? What is the vinegar to water ratio you use?

Leave a Reply

