Giving Generously

I have to admit. I am a control freak. There are certain areas in my life in which I am just a complete and utter control freak. No other way to put it.

Take for example, cooking. I enjoy cooking. I am not the world’s greatest chef, by any stretch, but I like to try new things and create and pretend I’m on Master Chef. But, as soon as any one else tries to help me, I go into super controlly mode and start internally freaking out about how inconsistently the onions are chopped.

That is not a joke.

I am basically the same way with our budget. I am determined to get us out of debt, but I have also assumed all control of our money and have left very little room for God to work his miracles in our finances.  I have been praying about this, as I recognize it’s an issue, and want to release my absolute control over our budget and let God speak on how to handle things.

Right now, as far as giving, each month we budget our tithe, an additional small amount toward our church’s new building fund (we are just over 35% of the way to our giving goal), and another small amount for spontaneous giving.  Basically, we give just enough for me to be able to tell myself we are giving to lots of different things, but my heart has really been saying, “I’ll just do this small amount so I can put even more toward our debt payments.”  After hearing from the Lord, my plan now is to budget more for each category of giving, and then intentionally seek God on how we should give the money budgeted for spontaneous giving.

Doing this means we will be putting less money toward our debt, but I am certain that this needs to be a priority for us.  Here is the verse I am praying as we continue on this journey:

“Remember this–a farmer who plants only a few seeds will get a small crop.  But the one who plants generously will get a generous crop.  You must each decide in your heart how much to give.  And don’t give reluctantly or in response to pressure.  ‘For God loves a person who gives cheerfully.’ And God will generously provide all you need.  Then you will always have everything you need and plenty left over to share with others.”  2 Corinthians 9:6-8 (NLT).

Leave a Reply

