Summer Saving: Home Made Lemon Sugar Body Scrub

home made lemon sugar body scrub recipeI’ve had five lemons sitting in my fridge for a while now.  Today I decided to actually put them to use!  You all know me…  I like a quick and easy recipe, and that’s just what this is!!  This took me just a few minutes to make and smells good enough to eat!  Which, technically you can do 😉

ingredients

Items needed:

2 cups white sugar

2-3 lemons

2-3 tbsp. coconut oil

jar

microplane zester

1.  Pour 2 cups sugar into a bowl and stir in the juice of 2 lemons (the third isn’t used until the end).   Mix until lemon juice is evenly distributed.

lemon juice

2.  Add coconut oil, 1 tablespoon at a time until you get the desired consistency.  I used 3 tablespoons.  You can stop here if you like, but I found the coconut smell was too overpowering and wanted a stronger lemon scent and color.

3.   If you choose to do so, add the zest of 3 lemons.  This will add to the delicious lemon-y scent and will give it a natural lemon color, as seen in the photo below.

That’s pretty much it!!  Told you it would be easy:)

 Enjoy!!

lemon scrub

 

8 thoughts on “Summer Saving: Home Made Lemon Sugar Body Scrub

    • That’s awesome, thanks! And I agree, once I had it made I was trying to decide who I should give it to because it is such a good little gift… Decided to keep it for myself though 😉

  1. Hey Mary, Do you use this scrub on your entire body or just hands?? How long do you keep it on? Thanks! I’m enjoying your blog!

    • Ha! Totally didn’t tell anyone how to use it, did I?

      You can use it anywhere! I have used it on hands, feet and legs mostly. I’d probably stay away from face. Just use a small amount (enough to scrub the area you’re using it on), scrub until you feel like the whole area has been exfoliated, and rinse it right off. It will be slightly oily feeling afterward from the coconut oil, but it should absorb into your skin pretty quickly.

      Thanks for keeping up with my blog 🙂

  2. Thank you sooo much for posting this, I am totally trying it soon. I was just looking at a sugar scrub over the weekend and it was selling for 30 dollars a jar. I never knew it was so simple to make. I may know what everyone is getting for Christmas this year…haha.

Leave a Reply

